Date published: 20 November 2018
Yelloway: The memorial stone placed in the wall of the new travel centre by Hubert Allen in memory of his father back in 1932
A unique piece of transport history will be officially unveiled in Rochdale this month.
A memorial stone, originally placed in the wall of Yelloway Motor Services travel centre in 1969 was rescued during demolition of the famous site in the 1980s with help from Touchstones, and will now go on permanent display at Number One Riverside, close to its original location.
To generations of Rochdale residents, Yelloway Motor Services was synonymous with day trips, seaside excursions and summer holidays by coach.
For decades the iconic travel company ran a thriving coach business from its town centre base in Weir Street, where Rochdale Borough Council’s Number One Riverside building and central library now stand.
The company made over 200 trips a year to seaside resorts such as Torquay, Blackpool, Llandudno and others through their heyday in 50s, 60s and 70s.
The memorial stone was originally laid in memory of the Yelloway Motor Services founder Herbert Allen, by his son Hubert who succeeded him as managing director in 1956.
After being in storage for several years it has now been carefully restored.
The stone will be officially unveiled at 11.30am on Saturday 24 November and everyone is welcome. A number of former Yelloway employees will be in attendance at the unveiling, along with Council Leader Allen Brett.
- Joy Parker (nee Allen), daughter of Hubert Allen
- Stephen Buckley, owner of a preserved Yelloway coach
- Paul Blackburn, owner of the Yelloway museum coach based in Bury Transport Museum
Council leader Allen Brett said: “Yelloway is a much loved name in our local history. The company had a national reputation for providing high quality travel and I am pleased to see this memorial stone restored and back on display, bringing back special memories for many local people.”
Back in 2016 the council unveiled a plaque at the front entrance to Number One Riverside, marking the location where the Yelloway company was originally based.